1957-58 Women’s Field Hockey Team

During the fall of 1957 the Gi Forsythe -coached women’s field hockey team captured its third successive Maritime intercollegiate championship for Acadia.

Playing one exhibition contest and six intercollegiate games against Dalhousie, Mt. Allison and King’s College, the Axe Women won five games and tied one. In these six encounters the Forsythe led charges outscored their opponents, 13-5. Team captain Nancy Sutherland starred in nets and Jeanne Ogden, Bette Graham and Liz McIsaac were offensive standouts.

In their initial league encounter of the season the Acadia squad defeated Dalhousie, 2-1, with Bette Graham and Liz McIsaac as the goal scorers. Following a 3-2 victory over Mt. Allison, the defending Maritime champs posted a 4-0 triumph over King’s with Graham and McIsaac each scoring twice. Subsequently the Axettes played to a 1-1 deadlock with Mt. Allison, with first year performer Jeanne Ogden scoring on a pass from Muriel Newcombe.

Later in a 2-1 victory over Dalhousie at Raymond Field, Ogden and Donna Logan were the goal scorers. With a 1-0 victory over King’s, the Axettes again emerged as Maritime Champions. Rising star Jeanne Ogden was the offensive standout, scoring the winning goal for the second successive contest. For this performance, Jeanne received special mention in the Athenaeum under the heading “Freshette Standout” in which her “incredible field hockey ability” was praised.

Sharing the limelight with Coach Forsythe for her excellent leadership were Bette Graham and Liz McIsaac, of whom the Athenaeum’s sports department wrote: “their. driving aggressiveness and scoring abilities were big factors” in the Axettes’ success.

Other sterling performances through out the season were recorded by Betsy Chase, Audrey Hulme, Fran Trenholm, Ruth Nichols, Dorothy Jardine, Dawn Dunphy and Rita Young with Pat Baiden as team manager.

It is indeed a pleasure to welcome for induction to Acadia’s Sports Hall of Fame members of the 1957-58 Women’s Field Hockey Team -that season’s Maritime Intercollegiate champions.